Top Ten Summer Reads

Top Ten Summer Reads

This summer you should definitely take some time to sit down with a good book, but it can be hard to decide what to read when there is so many good books out there. Here are the Top Ten Summer Reads from The Business Studio:

 

  • I Am Pilgrim A breakneck race against time and an implacable enemy. An anonymous young woman murdered in a run-down hotel, all identifying characteristics dissolved by acid. Smoldering human remains on a remote mountainside in Afghanistan. A flawless plot to commit an appalling crime against humanity. One path links them all, and only one man can make the journey.

 

  • The Secret History Under the influence of their charismatic classics professor, a group of clever, eccentric misfits at an elite New England college discover a way of thinking and living that is a world away from the humdrum existence of their contemporaries. But when they go beyond the boundaries of normal morality they slip gradually from obsession to corruption and betrayal, and at last - inexorably - into evil.

 

  • Outlander The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is an “outlander” in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans.

 

  • The Bronze Horseman During the summer of 1941 the Metanov family are living a hard life in Leningrad. As the German armies advance their future looks bleak. For Tatiana, love arrives in the guise of Alexander, who harbours a deadly and extraordinary secret.

 

  • Elsewhere is where fifteen-year-old Liz Hall ends up, after she has died. It is a place so like Earth, yet completely different. Here Liz will age backward from the day of her death until she becomes a baby again and returns to Earth. Is it possible that a life lived in reverse is no different from a life lived forward?

 

  • Me Before You A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

 

  • The Alchemist This story, dazzling in its powerful simplicity and inspiring wisdom, is about a boy named Santiago who travels from his homeland in Spain to the Egyptian desert in search of a treasure buried in the Pyramids. Along the way he meets a Gypsy woman, a man who calls himself king, and an alchemist, all of whom point Santiago in the direction of his quest.

 

  • A Man Called Ove A grumpy yet loveable man finds his solitary world turned on its head when one November morning a family move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove's mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul.

 

  • Harry Potter Harry Potter's fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he's a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.

 

  • The Rosie Project An international sensation, this hilarious, feel-good novel is narrated by an oddly charming and socially challenged professor on an unusual quest: to find out if he is capable of true love. The Rosie Project is a moving and hilarious novel for anyone who has ever gone after love in the face of overwhelming challenges.

Weather you’re reading at the beach or on the deck in your favourite chair there is something for everyone in this list.

Enjoy!

 

Posted: Thursday 22 December 2016